VPT Solution 9 by Ed Walters

13th May 2009

All Is Not Always As It First Appears

Hi Friend,

Over recent weeks my newsletter has focused on lots of different techniques involving making money online with virtual property.

Today, I’m going to cast the net further a field by reviewing
another internet marketing product to expand your insight of the industry.

Recently I’ve been receiving emails about the web site
www.maverickmoneymakers.com This has been promoted by a lot of the big boys so some of you may already have been hassled by the ‘gurus’ telling you to sign up to this ‘life changing’ web site. At $97 a month that’s over $1100 a year (those who promote it get 75% of that) it certainly would have to be pretty life changing.

However, unfortunately life changing it ain’t!

I signed up to this about a month ago to check it out. The site looks good and it’s set out in a very user friendly way. There’s a members area that hides away ‘Core Strategy’ videos that walk you through how to get started with affiliate marketing and starting your own online business. These were alright too, but nothing special.

Next there are some ‘Quick Money Blueprints’ where ‘Mack Michaels’ explains his secret strategies for making money online fast. After watching one of these videos - a video on how to make money by answering peoples questions on Yahoo Answers (which doesn’t work by the way) - I quickly realised rather disappointingly that what I first thought was a really awesome site was in fact just more hype.

The videos themselves are well created and easy to follow in their step-by-step format and if what the creator taught actually worked it’d be great. But it’s just stretches the limits of feasibility way beyond any realistic level.

For example in the Adwords module Mack talks about the Adwords content network and how easy it is to get great placements and cheap traffic. He shows you that “If you spent $1000 a day promoting Maverick Money Makers you can expect to make $5000 a month back”. That just isn’t going to happen. Pay per click is extremely hard to get right, his figures are very misleading and will result, I’m sure, in plenty of people losing money.

Then I went on to look at the content of the course. It includes a ‘virtual bookshelf’, which has the digital versions of various classic business books, such as, ‘How To Win Friends And Influence People’ by Dale Carnegie. This section is useful, and the books are excellent - but you can get them much much cheaper than the massive $97 a month he is charging.

The course also includes some video seminars on Traffic Generation techniques, which, I do admit, were pretty useful. However, again there wasn’t enough new material to justify paying $97 every month.

One of the most annoying thing about this course is that nearly the entire members area is focused around you making money by promoting Maverick Money Makers itself – in other words it’s designed completely to help the guy who created the course far more than the people who buy it. Selfish or what?!  There are so many affiliates promoting this for the big commissions that the guy must be making
an absolute fortune.

All this said, I was still prepared to stay subscribed for a bit to see what other ‘gems’ would be added. Unfortunately, I then realised the only product he promoted was
http://www.theadwordsmanifesto.com/  Then, suddenly I started getting email promotions of this one product from him. That made me suspicious so I did a little detective work. (And I’m going to teach you how to do this kind of thing too).

On the home page of Maverick Money Makers.com in the title bar (the top bar of the web page) it says ‘Established since 1997’. To check this I went to www.whois.sc  This site is a great tool for finding out how long a domain name has been registered. I soon discovered that ‘maverick money makers’ address was only created on the 4th of
September 2008 – hmmm a slip up of eleven years!

I then did some more research and found out “Mack Michaels” also has past alias’ of ‘Chris Luck’, ‘Chris Layton’ and (possibly) ‘Roy’. He is in fact the same guy behind a web site called incomegreed.com which shut down due to a lot of bad press. There’s nothing wrong with using pen names or pseudonyms in different niche markets. However, to change your name that many times in the same market suggested something was afoot.

So, at this point what I originally thought was an exciting product turned out to have average to poor content and it looked like the guy was just rebranding old material.

It gets even worse I’m afraid. I got an email from “Mack” offering me a cost per action course that guaranteed $1500 a day. However, as I now didn’t trust this fella I did some more searching and found this shocking news: You can read it yourself at:

http://www.citrixonline.com/maverick.tmpl

Citrix Online Is Not Affiliated With Maverick Money Makers - “Citrix Online has recently been alerted to an unauthorized business practice involving GoToMeeting®. The Web site www.maverickmoneymakers.com solicits people to place false ads on the Internet for virtual assistants and requires applicants to sign up for an online meeting service for their "interview." Maverick Money Makers and their network of affiliates hope to profit when these applicants sign up for the online meeting service by posing as legitimate businesses, attempting to join our partner program and receiving a commission for each person they sign up to enter into a trial. Citrix Online is committed to the highest business and ethical standards and to giving our customers an excellent experience with our products. We have no affiliation whatsoever with Maverick Money Makers or any of their programs nor do we approve of their business practices. Citrix Online recognizes that acts of fraud can be and are committed over the Internet. As with non-Internet fraud, fraud complaints are best and most appropriately made to law enforcement authorities”

With a little more digging I found out what was being taught. “Mack was supposedly telling people to post fake classified adverts asking for a personal assistant. When people answer the ad they are then told to join an online site like gotomeeting.com so you can interview them. You get a cut of them signing up to that web site”.

Now I have to say here I found this part posted on a blog. However, that would certainly appear to back up the claim made by Citrix. In other words what the guy is teaching is unethical and quite possibly a little fraudulent.

This was the final nail in the coffin and I, of course, cancelled my membership immediately. Even if the information in the member’s area was fantastic, I would still have cancelled because I prefer to stay away from people who may be involved in something dodgy. Note I say may as I don’t actually have catergoric proof but you can see where I’m coming from I hope.

So to conclude, I give Maverick Money Makers two out of five, no more. Some of the content is average but all in all I recommend you avoid it like swine flu.

Until next week keep well

Ed

P.S. Not making a killing from virtual property yet? Check out the full course at:

www.virtualpropertytycoon.com

-------------------------------------------------------

For back issue copies of my VPT Solution Newsletters please visit:

http://www.virtualpropertytycoon.com/vptsolution.htm

 

 


Any problems? Email me: support@virtualpropertytycoon.com 

ClickBank is a registered trademark of Keynetics Inc., a Delaware corporation. virtualpropertytycoon.com is not affiliated with Keynetics Inc. in any way, nor does Keynetics Inc. sponsor or approve any virtualpropertytycoon.com product. Keynetics Inc. express no opinion as to the correctness of any of the statements made by virtualpropertytycoon.com in materials on this page.